Before They Blow-POP! YM’s Shanell’s Mixtape Shut Up & Listen *Free Download*

Shanell at her Mixtape Release Party. Pic courtesy of FreddyO

Choreographer, Singer and songwriter Shanell aka SnL might just be ATL’s best kept secret. Not only is her sound and image refreshing, unapologetic and raw, her music is actually pretty decent as well! We first featured SnL in our Songwriter’s Revenge feature a few months back.

To drum up some publicity for her new Mixtape titled Shut Up and Listen, Shanell’s team sent out invites to her “Baby Shower” where Shanell would be unveiling her child – ie. the Mixtape she had been working on for the past several months. It was a cute marketing ploy since rumours were rampant at the time that Shanell has been seeing labelmate Lil Wayne romantically.

Shut Up And Listen is a solid effort of Trip & B (ATL Style) that exposes several sides of the Artist. Shanell experiments with dance, some house and some Ryan Leslie. She even attempts to re-make Groove Theory’s classic hit, Tell Me with labelmate Jae Millz.

There are some highlights to the Mixtapes and some songs you may want to skip, but overall the collection of songs gets me excited to hear what Shanell has in store for her full length album. Now there is some debate among R&B fans if Shanell can blow or not. I think she definitely has a voice on her, while others call her pitchy. I tend to like when Singers can belt out a tune with great emotion, which Shanell is not afraid to do at all. I just need to hear her preform live to prove the naysayers wrong.

Here are a few cuts from the Mixtape to whet your appetite. Let me know what ya’ll think of the songs below and the Mixtape.

Shanell & Ryan Leslie – I Choose You (Remix) ChokLit’s Choice

Shanell featuring Jae Millz – Tell Me

Download Shut Up and Listen Here!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2010/04/08/before-they-blow-pop-yms-shanells-mixtape-shut-up-listen-free-download/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I downloaded the mixtape the other day and found myself laughing, remembering how you joked about Shanell’s target audience being gay men. Just because I can see my bestie Chris- freaking the song “Work That” or “Hair Down My Back” at the club. Personally- I LOOOOOVE “Me N My” The beat is CRAZY hot, bordering on schizophrenic, and of course I’ve been missing my girl Eve.

    • Yep you hit the nail on the head!
      Me N My is nice too! For some reason, I didn’t expect it to be Eve, I thought it was a local ATL artist so that was a surprise! But lets be real, Gay men are driving the Industry right now!


Leave a Reply

