Hot ChokLit!: DoubleScoop – New Videos from Jagged Edge & Brutha

Following the lackluster effort (both creatively and commercially) that was 2007’s Baby-Makin’ Project, Jagged Edge parted ways with Island Def Jam (then being headed by Producer/friend Jermaine Dupri) and signed with Slip-N-Slide Records. Tip Of My Tongue has been bubbling on R&B radio for some months now; Jagged Edge also preformed the song on (Academy Award-Winning Actress) Monique’s talk show. Trina also joins Gucci Mane and Jagged Edge in the song, though Gucci, who is currently incarcerated did not make the video shoot. Good luck to JE on this project…I hope they have some better material this time around…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Former Reality show stars Brutha, return with their sophomore album Vacancy. I”m glad to see these guys are getting another chance; I liked some of their songs from their debut album. I personally thought the show was too much drama and clouded their talent while putting all their personal business out for everyone to see. Apparently they thought the same thing because this time around Brutha will not be documenting their lives on television. This video was premiered on 106 & Park this past Friday. One Day On This Earth was produced by Mysto & Pizzi, and written by R.Kelly. Clearly!! Listen to the song again, the adlibs, the rhythm, the bridge, a 100% R.Kelly song! I’m feeling this song!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2010/03/08/hot-choklit-doublescoop-new-videos-from-jagged-edge-brutha/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I used to looooove me some J.E. Now…not so much. I dunno about that song. The video…ugh.

    Brutha, I’m feeling the song. They can replace J.E. for all I care. Lol. Music is so disappointing these days.

    • I don’t know if the R&B group music act can ever be a successful buisness model ever again. I heard labels hate groups because they have to pay 3-4 times more for flights, make up artists, hotel rooms etc… plus the music production has evolved to be so much more organic and ‘natural’ as evidenced by the superstar success of acts like Alicia Keys and Robin Thicke that the sound of today doesn’t lend itself to the look/image of 4 guys in matching suits because this ofcourse is – unnatural.

      I will say this, somebody needs to make like a hip hop barbershop quartet with them top hats and ish….that would be cool

      • I agree with you. I think labels gave up on groups after they saw the success of solo acts like Beyonce, Justin Timberlake and even Pleasure P. Groups come across as manufactured and nowadays in music, audiences want more authenticity. Still, in JE, the twins are the breadwinners, but neither is more famous than the other, so they may feel stuck in the group format…

      • I agree with you. I think labels gave up on groups after they saw the success of solo acts like Beyonce, Justin Timberlake and even Pleasure P. Groups come across as manufactured and nowadays in music, audiences want more authenticity. Still, in JE, the twins are the breadwinners, but neither is more famous than the other, so they may feel stuck in the group format…

    • I feel you…

  2. I love this JE song but sometimes I think it’s just because of the sample. Or the fact the last 7 years JE have disappointed and this song does so-the least.

    I agree w/ Ms.Nikks the video looks low budget but i guess that happens when you sign with Slip – N- Slide 6 years after they were relevant. Also I HATE when rappers can’t appear in a video for their part.


Leave a Reply

