Still in the W(Rapper): Usher’s Raymond vs Raymond Album Material

courtesy of Essence.com

So I’ve been taking some slight shots at Usher lately, since I have been skeptical of his return to greatness after his last lackluster (IMO) effort from last year. I had been hearing some very wack material that just wasn’t Usher Raymond caliber type music!n Luckily, his team is really pushing out some decent music lately and some of it has been catching my ear. So I thought I would share and see what ya’ll think!

Trey Songz, Usher & Keri Hilson – I Invented Sex Remix

This is one of the better remixes I’ve heard in a while and a good look for Usher who is looking to get back into sex symbol status that is currently being occupied by Songz Yuuup himself. Usher’s voice and demeanor is playful and sexy on this track and he coos, “Arch your back girl, Us-her back girl” this song stays in the ChokLit-Pod!

Usher feat. Nicki Minaj – Little Freak

I’m not even sure this song can be played on the radio – its that hot! Polow provides a nice beat for Usher to get real dirty on. In this song he is not even beating around the bush – Usher is lookin for a straight menage with some freak-groupies. He sings, “If you f*ckin with me, really f*ckin with me, you’ll let her put her hands in your pants, be my little freak” (Ow!) Minaj returns the favour as she describes scouting the club “looking for a cutie, a real big ol’ ghetto booty/I really like your kitty cat and if you let me touch her…”  The song’s riskay subject matter is saved by Polo’s production and Nicki’s personality that oozes through this track.

Usher – Daddy’s Home

This song I actually heard on the radio when it started to grow on me. I believe this is the buzz single being sent out to pop radio and is so far doing well. It has a catchy hook, is laid back and flows well. It even has the call-and-response technique with a sexy woman’s voice for the bridge. Yes, I listen to music too much. The song was produced by the Runners.

Usher – Papers

This was the first song to come from his camp that I was feeling. Its simplistic, and well-written, but delivers as a good song. It has enjoyed a good run atop the Billboard R&B/Hip Hop charts as well. The song was written by Sean Garrett and apparently Usher’s soon to be Ex wife Tameka, did not appreciate the content. Can you blame her?? “If you had enough and you ready to sign say, Ready, Ready, Ready, Ready”

I like what I’m hearing so far…thoughts?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/12/23/still-in-the-wrapper-ushers-raymond-vs-raymond-album-material/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. omg i lovvvvvvve that pic.LIke father like son so cute 🙂


Leave a Reply

