Music News ROLO: New videos by Alicia Keys, Mario & Melanie Fiona!

Here’s a couple of new videos for ya’ll to catch up on! Click on the links below to watch!

melaniefiona

Alicia Keys – Doesn’t Mean Anything

ChokLit’s Take: This song reminds me of No One. And just like No One, it took me a while to warm up to it. Alicia looks great in the video, and that’s about all I can say right now. It is a nice song, but I’d rather watch paint dry. And I mean that in the nicest way possible!

Mario – Thinkin’ Bout You

ChokLit’s Take: LoL. I like Mario this time around because he gives me so much to comment on. Can I mention homie’s hairline without sounding like a hater? I’m just sayin…it looks like he’s using Jamie Foxx’s barber..but Mario does look better with the hair. Thinkin Bout You is the Runners-produced follow-up to his smash hit, Break-up. Needless to say, this isn’t the best follow-up song. J Records must have known this. Does this mean we cannot expect much from the album? Thinkin’ Bout You doesn’t scream Single material to me is all. Mario always drops the ball, in my opinion on his second single. It is what is holding him back from the Usher-status. But I will still hold up for a third single from Mario. The video is nicely styled and is directed by Chris Robinson. It features the beautiful Audra once again as well as a beauty straight of Bollywood. Mario is taking it international, I guess.

Melanie Fiona – It Kills Me

ChokLit’s Take: This song should probably be a Butta of the Week, because it is fiyah! Melanie has a really soulful voice and is really trying to give us a taste of the 90s R&B love ala Toni Braxton (sans the deep voice of course). She is also from Toronto so you gotta love her for that alone. I am definitely feeling this song. I wish her much luck with her project because I don’t think she is getting the attention she deserves – she is definitely being the underdog right now. But please check out this video, it is a great song. And I can’t hate on the thigh high boots and the holey shirt Melanie, but you are from T.Dot so I expect nothing less 😉

Side Note: Alex Rodriguez from ‘I Can Do Bad All By Myself‘ also makes a delicious cameo 😉

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/10/20/music-news-rolo-new-videos-by-alicia-keys-mario/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I cant wait to see the Melanie Fiona vid when I get home.She’s stunning and as much as I’m anti Tdot music at times, we do produce some strong R&B artists…I’ll be back!!

    • lol@ anti-Tdot music Tee!

    • Ms. Goddess Intellect, what is it about Tdot music that provides an opportunity for you to take an ‘anti’ stance? Do you think it’s a general lack of talent across the board or something immediately correctable like an image makeover (stronger videos, wardrobe, actually attractive leading ladies in video, etc…). I tend to echo your sentiments however I often wonder if I’m being overly critical at times (slightly haterish) or comapring apples and oranges (it’s hard not to when the videos from the heavy hitters in the States are so darn slick)….I’ve noticed recently that the production of the videos have gotten a lot better. But if there is one glaring strike against all of Canada it has to be that Karl Wolf Africa video. How embarrassing is it that the ‘stylist’ dressed him in a replica 49ers football jersey from Champs/FootLocker circa 2001 with the ironed on numbers….Oh. Lawd.

      • Why do I write the longest comments in history!?!?! *pulling my hair* such a dork lol

  2. I really enjoy Mario’s new song and I’m not at all a fan of his music. It has a slight Usher circa Love in the club feel to the instrumental and the vocal arrangements. I can imagine this track being a big tune closing out the club at 2:30am….ofcourse that’s assuming Calgary clubs start playing tracks post 2001 for a change *sigh*

    • Really? This one went through one ear and out the other to me sadly. And really Calgary?? 2001?? Oh man…
      Btw Knowvember, nice to have you back!! 😀


Leave a Reply

