Sweet Tooth: Keri Hilson’s BET Performance

keri-hilsonBET

During the BET Awards that aired this past weekend, singer/songwriter Keri Hilson took home the award for Best New Artists, beating out other hopefuls, Kid Cudi, Jazmine Sullivan, Ryan Leslie and M.I.A (a new artist??). Although I ride for Jazmine and Ryan, I think the award was well-deserved for Miss Hilson who has worked hard to bring her sound to the mainstream and to be a relevant artist. I read many comments about Miss Hilson’s Sunday performance which I was excited to see. Most people said it was either “really hype” or “a hot mess”, so I had to judge for myself. I was surprised. I think Keri should receive some credit for a) bring a lot of energy to the show and b) channeling  some MJ-style (and even some Elvis) dance moves and gestures. Her dancers were on point as well. Keri closed the show with an accapella reditition that was very….spririted. My favourite part was how they mixed in Kanye’s verse from Knock You Down to reflect the Michael Jackson reference – nice job!

Did y’all like it?

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Published in: on June 30, 2009 at 2:04 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/06/30/sweet-tooth-keri-hilsons-bet-performance/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Fly!
    That’s all I can say!

  2. This was one of the best live performances from the past few years. I even saw some bum crack at the 0:12 sec mark.

  3. keri you did good keep doin what you do!


Leave a Reply

