Now Playing: Chrisette Michelle – Epiphany

chrisetteepiphany

I must admit, there is not much I  knew about Ms Michelle. I’ve done my best Google search to dig up some dirt on her, but most of the information I could find on her is the token PR fodder. Not that there is a problem with that. So, no, she hasn’t stabbed her husband with a kitchen knife, doesn’t have any nude pics floating around and she is not romantically linked to any of the Rappers she has collaborated with – including the Game, Nas, Jay-z or Kanye. Whew. Maybe that’s why we may have almost missed Chrisette on our ChokLit Radar. Side Note: She does have a new blonde-streaked haircut though. Its pretty cute.

In fact, Chrisette’s current claim to Blog fame is her trumping of crunk-popstar Ciara for the Number One spot on the Billboard & iTunes charts, her fist week out, for her sophomore album, Epiphany. Since I’ve already posted one of Chrisette’s videos and her second single, I told myself (and my readers) that I would give Chrisette the good ol’ college try, this time around. I can safely say, I was not prepared for what I about to hear. Epiphany is one of the best Contemporary R&B albums I have heard in a long time. I’m not even going to sugar-coat this. Not only can this girl blow, she has an enviable producing and writing team that needs to be acknowledged.

Chrisette officially appeared on the scene with her debut album I Am, back in 2007. The album was not a commercial success, though it was Certified Gold. Chrisette was nomiated for various awards including two Grammys. However, Chrisette began to express an interest in exploring a more youthful, uptempo sound for her next album. So this time around, she decided to start from scratch and worked with a new batch of producers & song-writers including Ne-Yo, who executive-produced the project and wrote 7 of the songs; Rodney Jerkins, Claude Kelly, Bei Maejor, Jayms Madison (All I ever think about) and Chuck Harmon. This was definitely a good move on Chrisette & her Label’s part; the album has a very youthful, but cohesive, testimonial feel to it. The music on Epiphany incorporates a lot of drums, guitar licks and snaps – similar to what you would expect from a Ne-Yo album. But the beautiful melodies, masterful backup vocals and Chrisette’s sassy but succinct voice give the music a new life; very polished yet extremely heartfelt. The album opens strong with the title track, Epiphany (I’m Leaving), a song about that exact moment when you realize things are indeed over.  Notebook follows, a beautiful song that shows Chrisette’s vulnerability, setting the mood for the album. The second single What You Do is next, a duet with Chrisette & Ne-Yo that has her finally telling ol boy, “No more, ‘I’m sorry‘”

Chrisette Michelle – All I every Think About

Chrisette Michelle – Ephiphany

Chrisette Michelle feat. Ne-Yo – What You Do

By the time you reach All I Ever Think About, you realize this isn’t your run-of-the-mill R&B album. You can feel the yearning emotion in Chrisette’s voice as she sings about being so infatuated with someone that she is unable to think about anything else.  Another One is a hip-hop influenced jazzy track that shows the unique control Chrisette has of her voice. She could show a couple current crooners a thing or two about punctuating their words when they sing. Porcelain Doll, near the end of the album is another standout song that has a sense of epic feel to it, as Chrisette sings about not being a man’s possession.  Check some lyrics:

Here’s the thing you wanna put me in fancy clothes
and take me everywhere you go
and show me off to all your fancy friends…
Well here’s the thing
I really don’t mind the clothes
I love a nice dress with some open toes
But a trophy I’m not, So baby think again..

Overall, Chrisette definitely avoids the sophomore slump. In fact, she sashays past it in 4-inch stilettos, with a switch in her hips as she does so. If this is the kind of music that is going to be representative of 2009 (a girl can wish, can’t she?), I will be one happy ChokLit cookie 🙂 This be that feel good music I can jam to on both On & Off days.

*ChokLit Faves include: All I Ever Think About, Notebook, Porcelain Doll, Epiphany & Blame It On Me

*ChokLit Treat*: You can listen the the ENTIRE album yourself here! Don’t say I don’t love my readers 🙂 When you get a chance, listen to some tracks and let me know what you think.

Also, if you like what you hear, please check out Amazon or iTunes or your local record store to show Chrisette some love. Support good music!

Published in: on May 18, 2009 at 4:48 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/05/18/now-playing-chrisette-michelle-epiphany/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for the album choklitfactory! And yes a girl can wish and hope that the music in 09 will be the same or higher callaber of talent as Chrisete’s album…Simply put her music is the truth!!! She is a very talented young woman…I really enjoy her versatility…and it’s also refereshing because I can’t compare her to any other female in the game…

  2. GOOOOO Chrisette!!! I hear her album’s doing really well, it’s even beating Cici’s album on the charts! Good to see her doing well!:)


Leave a Reply

