Melt in Your Ears: Amerie – Why R U

Amerie

Amerie is back with a new sound and a new Label! Now signed with Def Jam after parting with Sony Records last year, Amerie is trying to make a comeback without her former production partner, Rich Harrison (responsible for One Thing, and now also working with Yound Steff!). The tentative title for the new album is In Love & War.

Why R U was released to the ‘Nets a couple days ago to some mixed reviews. I for one, think this song – produced by the Buchanans, is hot! It is a bit of a throwback to the 90s Hip Hop era and sounds different from everything else on the Radio right now. I think the song has potential – just needs a hot video, that I’m sure Amerie can deliver. I love Amerie’s voice; I think it has a lot of grit and substance and she deserves success. her last effort, Touch was pretty solid, but I believe some label politics led them to cut promotion of her second single, Touch that featured T.I.

Anywhoo…take a listen and let me know what ya’ll think!

Amerie – Why R U

Published in: on May 15, 2009 at 12:45 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/05/15/melt-in-your-ears-amerie-why-r-u/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. WHat the F@*K!?!?! Why was I going to skip this post?! As a strinkingly handsome caucasian male whose only interest it life is to watch NFL football, eat Wendy’s and chemically engineer a new colour, I find it nearly impossible to relate to any of Amerie’s music but I certainly hope she has a great retro risidual royalties deal in her contract because i’m officially buying all her old albums after listening to this track!!
    HOW CAN this track be received luke-warm by any audience? The beat is absolutely fantastic, can’t remember who else have sung/rapped over it but some of it ‘felt’ familiar…anyway, the 90’s feel was so cool yet it didn’t ‘feel’ like it was trying to be 90’s and dammit that I never think of Amerie but her voice is so eloquent without sounding airy and light. I loved the chorus and how it picked up in tempo so quicky. I dunno it made me want to take like a high energy step class or pilates (I think I’m growing ovaries) but I liked it.
    How does she always unearth these talented unknown producers?

    • Mr. Knowvember wrote: As a strinkingly handsome caucasian male whose only interest it life is to watch NFL football, eat Wendy’s and chemically engineer a new colour, I find it nearly impossible to relate to any of Amerie’s music

      Is that right? LoL You’re funny. You need more interests!
      Can’t find the particular sample for this track, but I also think its hot! People are sayin’ she needs to come harder, but I think her strength is that she can sing over hip hop beats, so I’m glad she’s runnin’ with that. And you should def check out her first CD – her and Rich Harrison made some music magic.

      • I’ll have to check out that CD. Can I make an amendment to my list of interests? I’d like to add Ciara’s spider-like legs wrapped around my torso has my 4th and final interest.

        Remember when Amerie was the host of that show on BET afternoons? I think it was called “The Student Center” or something like that….I just remember the set was mainly red and white and after she left they cycled through many hosts….

  2. I love it. I fell in love with Amerie with her summer jam “why don’t we fall in love”. I just really hope that she can make a come back this time!


Leave a Reply

