Sweet Tooth: Maxwell – Pretty Wings

R&B Music Lovers everywhere can rejoice!

maxwellback1

Maxwell has officially returned to the scene! Well, he first appeared last fall with a welcome-back concert of sorts.  I had the privilege of attending one of the shows. He rolled into Toronto back in October and put on a great show, with Jazmine Sullivan opening. The mood of the concert was really magical actually – with the live band, the excellent back-up singers, and Maxwell’s instrumental voice…plus about 300 screaming Grown-ass women. I’m more of a new-found Maxwell fan myself, but he had a couple songs I always loved, like This Woman’s Work which was featured on the Love & Basketball movie soundtrack (who doesn’t love that movie?).

This is the video for his new single he has released (finally), Pretty Wings. It is the first single off of a Trilogy of albums called Black Summer’s Night that will be released from Maxwell, through Sony BMG, over the next three years. Its a beautiful song. He sang it live at his concert and it was just as spell-binding. I think the chimes give it that majestic vibe to it, and of course, Maxwell’s voice rides the track effortlessly with the melody. Its not a commercially-crafted song, you can tell. The words seem to pop up along the way as the music takes center stage. You’ll see what I mean, peep the video below.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Did ya’ll like that one? I’ve also added a snippet from Maxwell’s concert where he preformed This Woman’s Work. Its not too long, just so you can feel the vibe of the concert. Good stuff!

*Picture credit: Sony BMG

Published in: on May 1, 2009 at 11:09 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/05/01/sweet-tooth-maxwell-pretty-wings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am loving Maxwell right now, Pretty Wings is such a beautiful song, I absolutely love it!! I have a feelign that album is gonna be HOT!!!

  2. I love this song. Can’t wait until the album comes out.

  3. omg, im so excited about his new album, saw him in PHX, on monday night, it was a fantastic concert, beautiful set up in the dodge theater, and spectacular inthe 2nd row from the stage,,, cant wait for 7/07/09,,,,

    • Wow 2nd row?? Must have been a great show!

  4. I am so proud of you Maxwell. I am enjoying the music.
    I wish you the best!

    Peace & Love

    RR

  5. I love the album! I can’t wait to see him in concert, its been a long time coming. Looooove that sexy brotha!!

  6. Oh ma word!!!!!!!!! Im so inlove with maxwellz new song.Damn the brother iz talented…Cn wait 4 the album

  7. One word= SEXY!!! I am loving Maxwell right about now! Saw him in Detroit and loved his performance (besides sitting front row and getting a closer view). Fabulous voice!


Leave a Reply

