Music News Rolo: New Music from Cam’ron, Nikki Minaj & Akon, T-Pain & Ace Hood

So because ya’ll asked for it, I’ve got some new Hip Hop tracks for ya’ll that are currently bumping in the ChokLit Factory.

Killa Cam

Killa Cam

First up, we have my boy Cam’ron. Let’s get one thing straight: I was a big Dipset fan back in the day. I thought they went real hard, I actually bought all their albums – even Juelz’ first one! But naturally, once they started to blow up (re: Juelz), egos started to clash and friendships started to wane. Then Cam kinda fall off.  He fought off a lyrical battle with the Bully that is 50 Cent. He also did some foolishness while being interviewed on Network TV that just brought straight shame. Cam and Jim Jones ended up having a fall-out unfortunately and are currently not on speaking terms, but I can’t lie, I haven’t really kept up on all the beef. Luckily, Cam’ron’s hiatus has helped him to make good music again, and he is back with this Banga, Get it in Ohio. This is hopefully a hint at what we should expect from his sixth solo effort, Crime Pays.  The song is payin homage to the Mid-West and all the ‘work’ Cam used to get out there. I love this beat – this song reminds me of the good ol’ Dipset days. We need to just all get along, fellas!

Cam’ron – Get it in Ohio

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Ms Minaj

Ms Minaj

Next up, my girl Nikki Minaj. I am still trying to catch up on Homegirl; I featured her in a music post last week and I’m def feeling this girl. As a female Rap artist, she’s got my ear and I couldn’t even cosign for Remy or even Eve (I liked her style better as a Ruff Ryder). DTP’s Shawna was Bad as well, but she couldn’t be consistent, or sell for that matter. Nikki might just be that great ChokLit Hype the ladies (and fellas?) are checking for. I just think she’s ill with the skills. This track, Keys Under Palm Trees, is a narrative about Nikki chillin in the Jamaican heat, puttin’ in work. Use your imagination. The song is dope and the best thing about it is listening to Nikki tell the story. Very rare! Check it out. Oh, and NO cameos!

Nikki Minaj – Keys Under Palm Trees

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

akon

And lastly, we have the Trinity: Akon, Ace Hood & T-Pain. Sike! I’m playin’…I always find it interesting to have T-Pain and Akon on the same track since I believe they offer the same service to the track, but this song works. Akon shines on this track; when he sings that he is puting in work – you believe the dude! Ace Hood provides the filler rap lyrics. I may sound harsh, but I notice nothing special about dude – but he has been getting alot of great music & local support to his disposal so good for him! I will also say that he brings alot of energy to his tracks. T-Pain blesses the track with his audiotune once again, but this track belong to Akon. Good look!

T-pain & Ace Hood

T-pain & Ace Hood

This track looks like it will be Ace Hood’s debut single from his forthcoming effort, Ruthless due out later this year. Even though sales of his debut album stalled at 90,000 after being on the charts for about 4 months, Ace is giving it another go. Good luck to him! source

Akon, T-Pain & Ace Hood – Overtime

Published in: on April 28, 2009 at 1:38 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/04/28/music-news-rolo-new-music-from-camron-nikki-minaj-akon-t-pain-ace-hood/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

