Suga & Steez: New Brooklyn Rocawear Campaign

I found this Ad on Kanye’s Blog and thought I’d share. Sometimes I chuckle when I think of the Rocawear Brand of clothing. Their advertisements always portray the clothes (and the people who wear them) as Affluent, Youthful, Urban and Sexy.  But the actual clothes themselves can range from semi-fresh to downright tacky! Also, they can be found anywhere from T.J Maxx or Winners to Unica or Dr.Jay’s.

But I won’t front, ya girl has rocked some Rocawear pieces with the Quickness and has done it well! I have a sassy pair of gold & black Rocawear sandals with a zipper up the heel that do NOT play!rocajacket2

And I love my mesh Rocawear casual jacket with embellishments on the zipper!

So it is always a toss-up with their clothes in my opinion. I haven’t bought anything from their new collection, but I have seen some cute pieces.  And their Men’s stuff is ok as well…but if I want to talk about Urban Men’s clothing, I will only talk about Coogi. But we’ll leave that for a future post.

And because I am a geeky Marketing Major, let’s talk about the Rocawear Ads themselves! They really stepped their game up with the I will Not Lose campaign! I like how they used real people like Sean Bell’s widow, Nicole Paultre-Bell and their children; then used celebrities like Ciara and Tocarra, to convey the overall message, “When life gets you down, never give up” – A good message in of itself! This particular Ad uses Jay-z’s hit song (and a ChokLit fave), Brooklyn (We Go Hard) featuring Santogold as background music. It showcases alot of past Rocawear campaigns as well, so we get to see Jay, Naomi, Ciara, Three-Six Mafia and many other former Models.

If your still reading this, you must be interested! Check out the video below. Do you have any fave Rocawear pieces? Or am I speaking Chinese right now?

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Published in: on April 23, 2009 at 2:29 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/04/23/suga-steez-new-brooklyn-rocawear-campaign/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

