Butta of the Week: Day26, Diddy & Yung Joc – Imma Put It On Her

This past week, Day 26 released the new video for their song, I’mma Put it on Her, featuring Diddy and Yung Joc. And, surprisingly, I like it!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I was a fan of MTB3 with Danity Kane and Day 26, but I mostly watched because of the girls. Day 26 was bland and boring and had no chemistry as a group, in my opinion. But now that Danity Kane has destroyed their respective careers by disbanding, all that’s left of the MTB saga is Day 26 and Dawn trying to make it as a solo artist. (I actually like Dawn and think she is very talented btw). Day 26…let’s just say they did not keep my attention this season.

There are many things I could touch on in this or other posts; like the new Diddy-Ciroc controversy with Ciroc stating in an ad that they prefer “lighter-skinned african-americans”, Q’s drenching in Bitchassness throughout the show this season, Day 26 not being paid which leads to Q’ue infamous tirade, and countless other Gossip-worthy stories…but I guess we’ll stick to the music on this one!

The song is produced by Blaze and is a hard-hitting hip hop beat, but sounds great with the guys’ vocals. I believe its Brian’s voice you can hear mostly singing the hook, I’mma put it on her. Brian’s voice has a lot of soul – he and Robert’s. Diddy and Joc provide enough ‘street cred’ (I use this term loosely in this example) to the track to make us appreciate the beat and make sure the Hip Hop heads check out the track.  I can’t help but notice nowadays that R&B songs are sounding more and more like hip hop tracks with vocals, and Hip Hop songs are sounding like R&B songs with a rapper feature. Whats the difference between the two?? Anyways, nonetheless, I’m feeling the track and would dance to it in a club. You guys feeling it?

Side Note:
I just noticed this video is basically a Ciroc ad in hiding. And I am getting annoyed just looking at Diddy’s FACE in this video…not a good look bruh…

Published in: on April 5, 2009 at 4:07 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/04/05/butta-of-the-week-day26-diddy-yung-joc-imma-put-it-on-her/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Not really feelin’ this whole Boy Band Y3K ish but the song is comme ci comme ca. Who is ghostwritin’ for Diddy nowdays? wasn’t feelin the visual concept of the video. The bright flags blowing on a beach reminds me of a video from like 4 years ago…and with the chopped and screwed vocal sample the visuals need to be more hard no homo to match the look of D26

    • These guys are just happy to be workin tho y’know? I never expect groundbreaking videos from Bad Boy anymore that went out with the 90s and Diddy’s Godzilla video foolishness..
      Yes, the colored flags are a rip off of Wayne Wonder’s No Letting Go from like 01 or something.
      And is it me, or is Mike gaining weight again? smh…

  2. Oh and digital/glowing backdrop for the ‘performance scene’ is very fromage 2001. Who directed this video anyway? It makes the video look dated already. But eh song is decent. Wouldn’t switch channels if I heard it on the radio


Leave a Reply

