ChokLit Fresh: Bun B + Jodeci = 1 HOT ChokLit Track!

I recently only came up onto this song as of January or so this year, but it was actually released last Summer, so that tells your how far removed I’ve been from my Hip Hop as of late…

bunb1

Bun B is one of my favourite rappers ever. I’ve always been a fan of Southern Rap, and he is one of the few who can actually spit with a really nice flow and really Reps well for the South. Plus, he’s got a lot of heart. Last year, Bun released his second solo album, II Trill on Rap-A-Lot Records. This was the second single from the album, which I have not heard yet, but this song rides so hard, I may have to find this album and make a purchase! In this video, Bun B is reminiscing the good years he shared coming up in the South, along with his partner in crime, the Departed Pimp C. Joining him in his homage to the South are fellow representatives, David Banner (Mississippi),  Rick Ross (Miami, Dade County) and 8ball & MJG (Memphis). Note the extremely menancing beat in this song, along with the heartfelt chorus that is sampled by Jodeci’s song, Cry For You(You’re Everything). Mr. Lee produced this joint and it goes Hard. It peaked at #59 on the Billboard R&B/Hip Hop songs chart. Check it out!

More….

And of course, we have to mention this original song that was used as the sample, Cry for You. Anyone that knows me knows that I am not up to date on my Jodeci. I admit this fully. I was sleepin under a rock for this era in R&B music, but don’t worry, I’ll make a comeback! Anyways, Cry for You was released in November of 1993 and was featured on their album, Diary of a Mad Band. It spent 4 weeks atop the R&B Singles chart and peaked at #15 on the Billboard 100. I love, love, love this song! 😀 Don’t you love it when good music is sampled to make even greater music? I know I do! Special thanks for the men of Jodeci for keepin the abs right back in the day…Check out the video below.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/03/29/choklit-fresh-bun-b-jodeci-1-hot-choklit-track/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. WHAT?! I never knew about this song either and I consider myself a Jodeci connoisseur…thanks for sharing this! 🙂

  2. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  3. One of the Hardest Collabs ever! David Banner and MJG killed this joint! I didnt know Mr Lee did this joint, The Jodeci sample is too nice! Give me more blogs like this!!

  4. Glad y’all liked this one, it is my FAVE as well! Brilliant production by Mr. Lee!

  5. […] of Aaron Hall’s, I Miss You. I have never been too much of an Aaron Hall fan (please see my Jodeci post) but I did come across this song while rummaging through some 90s R&B a while back and it […]


Leave a Reply

