Melt in your Ears then Speak on it!: Mya – Blackout

New Mya track!

New Mya track!

 

Mya has jumped on to the recent attention Domstic Abuse (moreso amoung Black relationships) has been getting in the Media lately and has released this new track, Blackout onto the ‘Nets. Apparently, Mya has been working on a new album to be released on her own label, Planet 9 later this year. This song is controversial because Mya talks about how she would react if in a domestic abuse situation, singing, “I will blackout on your fancy mansion, blackout on your mercedes benz, Blackout on your ass in public…”

More after the jump…

Here is an interesting interview Mya had with Honey Magazine about why she decided to record the song:

The singer told Honey Magazine what inspired her to record the song: “I was inspired by two different incidents involving two of my female friends. I remember being disgusted, angry, outraged, sad, sympathetic, and fearful of what I would’ve done if I were in their shoes. I’m still pissed from it and even more pissed that they are back with these guys. But those are my girls and I love ‘em for life. I just seriously hope there’s not a next time”.

And this is what she had to say about the Rihanna and Chris situation:
“I honestly didn’t believe it when I first heard of the situation. I assumed it was another outrageous, untrue rumor from an illegitimate gossip site…After the incident I had my management contact Rihanna’s team about giving her the song. I’m sure it’s still a sensitive time for her to address the issue at all. I’m sure some people will think a bunch of nonsense as they always do [about her making this song now]… …It’s about a silent epidemic that affects one in three women in the world. I just happen to be one of the many concerned voices”.

When asked if people will think she’s jumping on the bandwagon to get press for the new album, she replied:
I’m sure some people will think a bunch of nonsense as they always do… [It] comes with the territory. This is much bigger than me or an album. It’s about a silent epidemic that affects one in three women in the world. I just happen to be one of the many concerned voices.

When asked if she’s ever been a victim of domestic violence, she says:
I haven’t been to jail or a mental institution so that should answer your question.  Source

Hahah I ain’t mad atcha Mya! I’ve always liked this girl. I actually do like the song, and her vocals sound good as well. Sad, like many artists, Mya could not extend the success she had in the 90s into the new Millenium. I always thought she was one of those artists who worked very well with what she had vocally. All the success to her with her new project. What does everything think about her new track and the domestic abuse issue in general (touchy subject I know!)? I decided not to cover the story in The ChokLit Factory because it really is everywhere else and I have very strong beliefs about the subject I don’t always like to get into. But let’s just say, I’m feeling Mya’s statement overall. Discuss!!

Published in: on March 15, 2009 at 11:47 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/03/15/melt-in-your-ears-then-speak-on-it-mya-blackout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

