ChokLitfactory Exclusive: Is Whitney Houston the G.O.A.T* of Contemporary R&B? PART I

Ok, now, take a deep breath before you yell out an obscenity, and please, let me plead my case! First off, no disrespect to the greats: Aretha, Chaka, Patti, or Diana. We still love you.

 But, come on, deep down, you know it is true! Whitney’s music is timeless! Her voice is commanding, strong and unwavering – but it can also be very sweet and loving. Even her earlier work is a premium brand of accessible, sweet Pop that showcased her vocal range. Years later, she would shut the game down with The Bodyguard and Waiting to Exhale soundtracks; the Bodyguard being the highest selling soundtrack ever.  

Still not convinced? Ok, let me take you down memory lane…

 Whitney first bursts on the scene with her self-titled debut Whitney Houston, that featured sweet-toothed #1 pop ballads like, “How will I know?”, “You give good love” and “Saving all my Love for you”. These songs introduced her to the desirable MTV-ready audience that previously was not available to Black R&B singers. Selling over 30 million copies worldwide on her album made her, at the time, the highest selling debut for a female artist. Peep the vids.

Whitney’s How will I know (beware of extreme 80s cheese with this one)

Whitney’s Saving all my love for you

 She followed up with Whitney, which pretty much evoked the same sound as her previous album, but garnered similar great success with hits like the popular “I wanna Dance with Somebody” and “So emotional”. I can personally attest to dancing around with my big hair and my mama’s pink eye shadow to “I wanna dance with somebody”, bopping my hips like only Ms Houston could. This album was also certified Diamond in the US, and went on to sell 25 million copies worldwide.

Whitney’s So Emotional:

Whitney’s I wanna dance with somebody:

Ok, so I let ya’ll have a little taste. There is more to come if you follow our 4-PART series, and by the end, you WILL agree with me, I hope. Tomorrow, we look at her next milestone: The BodyGuard. Stay tuned…and Discuss!! 

*Note: For all those not in the know…G.O.A.T = Greatest of All Time!! The more you learn 🙂
Published in: on February 18, 2009 at 7:09 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thechoklitfactory.wordpress.com/2009/02/18/choklitfactory-exclusive-is-whitney-houston-the-goat-of-contemporary-rb-part-i/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

